The Garrys Ready New Album 'Get Thee to a Nunnery'

Hear the title track from the Dallas Good-produced album

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 4, 2021

The Garrys have returned with details of a new album. The Saskatoon surf sister trio will share Get Thee to a Nunnery on September 24 via Grey Records.

Produced by Dallas Good of the Sadies, the 11-track Get Thee to a Nunnery finds Erica, Julie and Lenore Maier bringing together sounds and stories formed from their "windswept prairie surroundings, the isolation and decay of rural life," and, as the album's title implies, "generational shifts in worldview and faith."

The album's title track, which you can hear below, was inspired by stories from the band's mother of her teenage years at an all-girls boarding school and convent in 1960s Saskatchewan; specifically, the "push-pull of rebellion and redemption that comes within a religious upbringing, and the seeding of persistent guilt that all former Catholic school kids know well."

An accompanying animated video from Amery Sanford, which premiered as part of Lawnya Vawnya's Cyber Spring event last month, will receive a wider release June 11.

Get Thee to a Nunnery follows the Garrys' 2020 rescoring of 1922 film Häxan: Witchcraft Through the Ages. The album was recorded and mixed at Rec Hall Studios by Barrett Ross (Kacy & Clayton, Marlon Williams, The Deep Dark Woods), and mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering.

Get Thee to a Nunnery:

1. Get Thee to a Nunnery
2. Ambrosia Salad
3. In the Dawn
4. Sintaluta
5. Devil's Dip
6. Bury Me With My Money
7. Hwy-11 Tumbleweed
8. Fallen Woman
9. It's Over
10. Heavy Flow
11. R.M. of Wolverine

Latest Coverage