The Flenser to Release Low Tribute Album with Midwife, Drowse, Have a Nice Life

The 2024 compilation 'Your Voice Is Not Enough' is previewed by Allison Lorenzen's rendition of "Words"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Dec 19, 2023

It's hard to believe that it's been over a year living in a world without the force that was Low's Mimi Parker, who died in November 2022 from ovarian cancer.

San Francisco dark music label the Flenser and friends — including Midwife, Drowse, Have a Nice Life, Planning for a Burial and more — have now announced a compilation album paying tribute to the band's catalogue and influence.

While there is no exact release date as of yet, Your Voice Is Not Enough is set to arrive next year via the Flenser. Today, they've shared a cover of "Words" by Allison Lorenzen.

"Your Voice Is Not Enough stands as a heartfelt tribute to Low, a project born out of a conversation with Planning for Burial's Thom Wasluck and the Flenser," a press release reads. "Inspired by the nuanced beauty of Low's discography, what began as a discussion on ranking favourite albums blossomed into a collaborative effort that brought together our close-knit group of Flenser artists and friends. Regrettably, the compilation took shape before the tragic passing of Mimi Parker, and in honouring her legacy, we dedicate this album to her memory, celebrating the profound impact she left on the music world."

Listen to Lorenzen's dark wave dream pop take on "Words" below, where you'll also find the full album tracklist.

Your Voice Is Not Enough:

1. Cremation Lily - "Weight of Water"
2. Holy Water - "Sunflower"
3. Midwife, Amulets - "Do You Know How to Waltz"
4. Drowse - "Hey Chicago (feat. Lula Asplund)"
5. Kathryn Mohr - "Cut"
6. Allison Lorenzen - "Words"
7. Planning for Burial - "Murderer"
8. Have a Nice Life - "When I Go Deaf"

Latest Coverage