The Dears Announce Expanded Edition of 'Lovers Rock'

Listen to the acoustic version of "I Know What You're Thinking and It's Awful"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Aug 24, 2022

Montreal's the Dears have announced an expanded edition of 2020 album Lovers Rock, which is due to arrive on September 9 and includes five new acoustic versions of songs from the original.

The band's Natalia Yanchak shared the following of their upcoming release:

We originally released Lovers Rock in 2020. It was an album we were, and are still, very proud of. Murray [Lightburn] and I recorded an acoustic session just before we released the album. Again, back in 2020 we spent the day at Hotel2Tango studio in Montreal — we put out the videos of some of these sessions, but now can finally share the audio on this deluxe upgraded version of the album, Return to Lovers Rock. It's kind of like Return to the Planet of the Apes: we can't not go back there. There's unfinished business down on Lovers Rock, so it's time for a spin-off!

Return to Lovers Rock is previewed today by "I Know What You're Thinking and It's Awful (Acoustic)," which you can listen to below. There, you'll also find the expanded album's full tracklisting. 

Return to Lovers Rock:

1. Heart of an Animal
2. I Know What You're Thinking and It's Awful
3. Instant Nightmare!
4. Is This What You Really Want?
5. The Worst in Us
6. Stille Lost
7. No Place on Earth
8. Play Dead
9. Too Many Wrongs
10. We'll Go into Hiding
11. I Know What You're Thinking and It's Awful (Acoustic)
12. Instant Nightmare! (Acoustic)
13. Is This What You Really Want? (Acoustic)
14. Too Many Wrongs (Acoustic)
15. We'll Go into Hiding (Acoustic)

Latest Coverage