Swamp Dogg Gets Justin Vernon, Jenny Lewis and John Prine for New Album

Hear "Sleeping Without You Is a Dragg" from 'Sorry You Couldn't Make It'

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Dec 13, 2019

Cult country/R&B figure Swamp Dogg is emerging with a new album, and it's packed full of notable guest stars. Called Sorry You Couldn't Make It, the album features everyone from Bon Iver's Justin Vernon, Jenny Lewis and Poliça's Channy Leaneagh, to John Prine and Sam Amidon.

The record arrives on March 6 via Joyful Noise/Pioneer Works Press, following up Swamp Dogg's 2018 effort Love, Loss, and Auto-Tune. Amazingly, this marks the 23rd studio album by Swamp Dogg (a.k.a. Jerry Williams).

Sorry You Couldn't Make It was produced by Ryan Olson of GAYNGS/Poliça and recorded at Nashville's Sound Emporium.

"If you notice, I use a lot of horns. But actually, if you listen to my records before I start stacking shit on it, I'm country. I sound country," Swamp Dogg said in a statement. "They didn't have any blacks in country until Charlie Pride came along. But in time, all things change, and that's what has happened to country music."

For a taste of the upcoming album, you can hear the new song "Sleeping Without You Is a Dragg," which features Vernon on piano, as well as Lewis and Leaneagh.

Sorry You Couldn't Make It:

1. Sleeping Without You Is a Dragg
2. Good, Better, Best
3. Don't Take Her (She's All I Got)
4. Family Pain
5. I Lay Awake
6. Memories (ft. John Prine)
7. I'd Rather Be Your Used to Be
8. Billy
9. A Good Song
10. Please Let Me Go Round Again (ft. John Prine)

Latest Coverage