Sturgill Simpson Announces New Album 'The Ballad of Dood & Juanita'

His third album in 12 months features Willie Nelson
Sturgill Simpson Announces New Album 'The Ballad of Dood & Juanita'
After Cuttin' Grass on a pair of releases last year, Sturgill Simpson has delivered details of his third full-length release in 12 months.

The Kentucky songwriter will release new album The Ballad of Dood & Juanita digitally on and on CD on August 20, ahead of a vinyl release arriving December 3.

Simpson reportedly wrote and recorded The Ballad of Dood & Juanita in less than one week, working with the same group of musicians with whom he recorded both of last year's Cuttin' Grass albums.

Additionally, Willie Nelson joins Simpson and co. on the album's "Juanita." You can find the full tracklist below.

"I just wanted to write a story — not a collection of songs that tell a story, but an actual story, front to back," Simpson said of his latest in a press release, describing it as a "rollercoaster ride through all the styles of traditional country and bluegrass and mountain music that I love, including gospel and a cappella."

In April, Simpson joined the cast of Martin Scorsese's period crime drama Killers of the Flower Moon.

The Ballad of Dood & Juanita:

1. Prologue
2. Ol' Dood (Part I)
3. One In the Saddle, One On the Ground
4. Shamrock
5. Played Out
6. Sam
7. Juanita (ft. Willie Nelson)
8. Go In Peace
9. Epilogue
10. Ol' Dood (Part II)