Sturgill Simpson Announces Bluegrass Album 'Cuttin' Grass'

Sturgill Simpson Announces Bluegrass Album 'Cuttin' Grass'
Sturgill Simpson has announced a surprise bluegrass album titled Cuttin' Grass Vol. 1 — The Butcher Shoppe Sessions, out this Friday (October 16).

The 20-track record — featuring new material and bluegrass reworks of older songs — would have been quietly released on streaming tomorrow night at midnight ET. After news was spoiled overseas, Simpson got ahead of the announcement via an Instagram post.

"Welp... was hoping to surprise everybody on Thursday but somebody somewhere (Germany) got all excited and just couldn't hold their horses," he wrote. "And yes... this is actually the album cover."

Alongside Simpson's vocals and guitar, the record will feature instrumentation by Mark Howard, Scott Vesta, Mike Bub, Sierra Hull, Tim O'Brien, Miles Miller and Stuart Duncan. The album was produced by David "Ferg" Ferguson.

So far, no pre-orders have been announced, although it appears the record will eventually be available to purchase on green and yellow vinyl, according to the artist's socials. 

Cuttin' Grass follows Simpson's 2019 record, Sound & Fury.

See the new album's full tracklist below.

Cuttin' Grass Vol. 1 — The Butcher Shoppe Sessions:

1. All Around You
2. All the Pretty Colors
3. Breakers Roar
4. I Don't Mind
5. I Wonder
6. Just Let Go
7. Life Ain't Fair
8. A Little Light
9. Life of Sin
10. Long White Line
11. Living the Dream
12. Old King Coal
13. Railroad of Sin
14. Sitting Here Without You 15. Sometimes Wine
16. The Storm
17. Time After All
18. Turtles All the Way Down
19. Voices
20. Water in a Well