'Stranger Things' Announces Season 3 Soundtrack

But it's not by S U R V I V E's Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jun 6, 2019

Stranger Things returns for its third season next month, and the hit Netflix show has just revealed plans for an accompanying soundtrack — though so far not one from regular soundtrackers Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein.
The awkwardly titled Stranger Things: Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series, Season 3 will be available in digital, CD and cassette formats on July 5 via Legacy Recordings. A 12-inch vinyl edition, which will come with a mini-poster and bonus 7-inch, will arrive on July 26.

So far, a tracklisting has yet to be announced. But according to a press release, it will include "15 classic tracks," as well as one original cast recording. So expect a bunch of '80s hits to fill the tracklist.

However, there is no mention in the press release of S U R V I V E members Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein making musical contributions to the upcoming season, even though they are the ones responsible for not only the show's iconic theme song but also the previous seasons' synth-loaded scores.
In seasons past, Stranger Things has been treated to various artist soundtrack releases, in addition to a score release from Dixon and Stein. So for now, cross your fingers that Dixon and Stein are back onboard.

Season 3 of Stranger Things hits Netflix on July 4.

Latest Coverage