Sonny Smith Curates San Francisco Garage Rock Comp

Sonny Smith Curates San Francisco Garage Rock Comp
Prolific songwriter Sonny Smith previously played a curator of sorts on his ambitious 100 Records project, which found him creating 100 fictional artists and recording songs for each one. Now, Smith is playing a curator of a more literal variety, since he helped assemble a new compilation called I Need You Bad, due out on November 26 through Polyvinyl.

This 15-song collection documents the garage rock scene in San Francisco (and slightly beyond). It includes tracks by Sonny and the Sunsets, Magic Trick (featuring Fresh & Onlys' Tim Cohen), Chris Cohen, Little Wings, Warm Soda, Burnt Ones, the Sandwitches, and more. The artwork was created by Shannon Shaw of Shannon and the Clams.

According to a press release, "I Need You Bad is a perfect snapshot into one of the most influential and thriving music scenes in the country, if not the world."

Peruse the tracklist below, and scroll past that to hear the opening cut, Warm Soda's "Tell Me in a Whisper."

The album will be available digitally and in an edition of 1,000 "slime green" vinyl records. Additionally, Burger Records will release a run of 300 cassettes. Vinyl or digital copies can be pre-ordered here.

I Need You Bad:

1. Warm Soda - "Tell Me in a Whisper"
2. The Memories - "Higher"
3. Cool Ghouls - "Hot Summer"
4. Pure Bliss - "Thine Eyes"
5. Sonny & the Sunsets - "Those Drawings I Told You About"
6. Jessica Pratt - "Dreams"
7. Earth Girl Helen Brown - "Far Away Place"
8. Burnt Ones - "Premonition"
9. Magic Trick - "Miracle of Life"
10. Chris Cohen - "Open Theme"
11. Fronds - "Wash"
12. Little Wings - "All Lone House"
13. Wet Illustrated - "Honey Goes"
14. Sunfoot - "Why Do You Want to Throw a Brick"
15. The Sandwitches - "Sun in Rain"