Sonic Youth Unveil 'Smart Bar - Chicago 1985' Live Album

Sonic Youth Unveil 'Smart Bar - Chicago 1985' Live Album
Back in 2010, Sonic Youth hinted at an upcoming live album culled from some archival tapes dating back to 1985, with guitarist Lee Ranaldo recently assuring fans that the concert set was still on its way. The band have now officially confirmed the collection's arrival. Titled Smart Bar - Chicago 1985, the double-LP set arrives November 14 through the group's own Goofin' Records.

Sonic Youth announced the live album through their website and have revealed that, as the title implies, the concert in question took place at Chicago's Smart Bar on August 11, 1985. The 14-song set was captured on 4-track cassette, but was recently mixed and mastered by the group.

Much of the collection centres on the then-recently released Bad Moon Rising LP, including "Death Valley '69" and "I Love Her All the Time." Smart Bar - Chicago 1985 also gives a glimpse of what was to come, with early versions of EVOL tracks "Secret Girl" and "Expressway to Yr Skull." The live album contains "a rare never before released live rendition of 'Kat 'N' Hat'" as well.

The archival release features liner notes by Gerard Cosloy and Sonic Youth engineer Aaron Mullan, and contains era-appropriate photos by Pat Blashill and Steven Koress.

Now with  Smart Bar - Chicago 1985 officially on the way, fans are no doubt bracing themselves for another of Ranaldo's hinted-at treats: a demo-assisted deluxe reissue of Sister.

Smart Bar - Chicago 1985:

1. Hallowe'en

2. Death Valley '69

3. Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)

4. I Love Her All the Time

5. Ghost Bitch

6. I'm Insane

7. Kat 'N' Hat

8. Brother James

9. Kill Yr Idols

10. Secret Girl

11. Flower

12. The Burning Spear

13. Expressway to Yr Skull

14. Making the Nature Scene