Frog Eyes Offshoot Soft Plastics Announce Debut Album '5 Dreams'

Listen to lead single "Rope Off the Tigers" now

BY Matt BobkinPublished Mar 25, 2020

Last week, we discovered that members of Frog Eyes — the recently defunct art-rock project led by Carey Mercer — have reformed as Soft Plastics. Now, the project has been officially revealed, along with the details of a new album and lead single.

Soft Plastics' debut album, 5 Dreams, will be released by Paper Bag Records later this year. Twitchy, trumpet-laden lead single "Rope Off the Tigers" is available to stream now.

A press release calls 5 Dreams a "post-punk, new wave, mariachi, new-wave mariachi, dub, hip hop, goth-rock infused romp, taking cues and according gobs of respect to Blixa Bargeld, Ryuichi SakamotoTalk TalkHappy Mondays — all rung through the grime of a northern port city."

Says Mercer, "The songs aren't tied to a cohesive theme, but they do exist in a land that is deeply wet, dark, flooded — occasionally a gilded sun-beam comes out of nowhere and the song just stops and stares in bloody awe at what we are given, what we might see."

As previously reported, Soft Plastics is composed of Mercer and former Frog Eyes members Melanie Campbell and Shyla Seller.

Below, check out the 5 Dreams tracklisting followed by the lyric video for "Rope Off the Tigers." 5 Dreams is available to pre-order here.

5 Dreams:

1. St. Tosh the Actor
2. Here's Where the Sun Was 
3. Andre 
4. I Dreamed of Cold Clean Green Seas 
5. The Party's Still On 
6. Spartacus, Please 
7. I Pay No Heed to the Signs
8. Rope Off the Tigers 
9. The Angels 
10. Wyld Thyng

Latest Coverage