Snotty Nose Rez Kids Announce New Album 'Trapline'

The duo have also mapped out a Canadian tour
Snotty Nose Rez Kids Announce New Album 'Trapline'
Just over a week removed from wrapping a Canadian tour, Snotty Nose Rez Kids have announced a follow-up to their Polaris Music Prize-shortlisted sophomore album The Average Savage.

The duo of Darren "Young D" Metz and Quinton "Yung Trybez" Nyce will deliver a new LP titled Trapline this May. While the album has yet to receive a concrete release date, you can find its artwork above.

Of the album's title, the duo wrote, "A trapline is a permanent imprint on the land that has been sustained through time by our ancestors, who then passed this responsibility on to us. While we are only here for a short time, we each have our roles and responsibilities to uphold. Our territories, laws, and customs will never change, but if our physical existence is too damaging to our lands and waters, then we are both failing our ancestors and setting our descendants up for failure."

They continued: "Trapline is a reminder that the lands we come from bring with them responsibilities that were passed down from our ancestors to preserve our territories for future generations. We're bringing a refreshing energy and a brand new futuristic sound to our next highly anticipated album. Trapline features a diverse range of like-minded artists with important messages that stem from different perspectives on affecting positive change."

Speaking with Exclaim! in August of last year, Snotty Nose Rez Kids pointed to their third record initially being titled Rez Bangers & KoolaPops, revealing that the effort would feature appearances from Toronto hip-hop outfit the Sorority, Vancouver artist Brevner and Indo-Canadian duo Cartel Madras. It remains to be seen whether the aforementioned artists will be featured on Trapline.

Alongside the album news, the duo have mapped out a Canadian tour for May and June. A trio of dates to mark their European debut will give way to a cross-country trek beginning at Calgary's Commonwealth Bar on May 21.

Tickets for the tour are on sale now, and can be found here. You can find a complete itinerary below.

Tour dates:

05/09 Brighton, UK - The Walrus
05/10 Brighton, UK - The Green Door Store
05/19 Rotterdam, Netherlands - New Skool Rules
05/21 Calgary, AB - Commonwealth Bar
05/22 Edmonton, AB - 99Ten
05/23 Saskatoon, SK - Amigos Cantina
05/24 Halifax, NS - Reflections
05/25 St. John's, NL - Rock House
05/30 Vancouver, BC - Fortune Sound Club
06/01 Kitimat, BC - Zoo Kitimat
06/07 Victoria, BC - Capital Ballroom
06/15 Toronto, ON - Yonge Dundas Square
06/20 Winnipeg, MB - Old Market Square
06/21 Montreal, QC - La Sala Rossa