SNFU, Four the Moment Receive 2022 Polaris Heritage Prize

SNFU's '...And No One Else Wanted to Play' and Four the Moment's 'We're Still Standing' were respectively chosen by the public and an 11-member jury

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Oct 21, 2022

Following Pierre Kwenders' 2022 Polaris Music Prize win, the organization has awarded the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize to albums from Western Canadian punks SNFU and Halifax a cappella quartet Four the Moment.

SNFU's 1985 debut ...And No One Else Wanted to Play was chosen in the Heritage Prize public voting category, while Four the Moment's 1987 album We're Still Standing was awarded Heritage designation by the 11-member Polaris Heritage Prize jury.

Those two albums emerged victorious from a field that included long-playing contenders from k.d. lang, Kardinal Offishall, Bran Van 3000, Stars, the Weakerthans, Martha and the Muffins and more.

Four the Moment's Delvina Bernard shared in a statement, "When Four the Moment started its journey 40 years ago, we could not have imagined that songs written as feminist and Afrocentric testimonials of gender and racial social justice issues in Nova Scotia performed a capella would still hold sway today. Ironically, the injustices chronicled on the We're Still Standing recording are unfortunately still with us. Despite this, we are pleased and proud to celebrate along with those who've supported our music mission over the decades as collaborators, inspirators and patrons. We are grateful to the Polaris Heritage Prize organization and jurors and to all who voted for us. We are equally indebted to all nominees whose exceptional musical works make these awards possible… it just feels so uplifting to know we're still standing, and that a new and younger generation might just take note."

SNFU's Marc Belke and Brent Belke share in a statement, "It's humbling for SNFU to be mentioned in the same breath as the other nominees. It's also gratifying that after almost 40 years the album's impact is still being felt. We are thankful to our fans and friends who voted for this award. And we are thankful to Mark Stern, Shawn Stern and Gubby Svoboda, who, all those years ago, believed in us and pressed us to drive to Los Angeles to make the album. This award is dedicated to the lives of two people without whom this album would not exist: Mr. Chi Pig and Evan C. Jones. Love, respect, & 1, 2, SNFU."

The 2021 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize was awarded to Nomeansno's 1989 album Wrong and Faith Nolan's 1986 release Africville.

Previous winners of the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize include Beverly Glenn-Copeland, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Main Source, Rush, Alanis Morissette, Kid Koala, the Tragically Hip and more.

Latest Coverage