The Smiths to Release 'Complete' Box Set

The Smiths to Release 'Complete' Box Set
Earlier this year, San Jose, CA singer Janice Whaley released a six-disc box set containing vocal covers of every single one of the Smiths' songs. If those cover tunes weren't enough to satisfy you, brace yourself for the real thing: Rhino Records is gearing up to release The Smiths - Complete on October 3 in the UK.

As the title suggests, Complete contains everything the Smiths ever released. This means eight full-length albums on both CD and 180-gram LP. The albums are The Smiths (1984), Meat Is Murder (1985), The Queen Is Dead (1986), Strangeways, Here We Come (1987) and live album Rank (1988). Plus, there are compilations Hatful of Hollow (1984), The World Won't Listen (1987) and Louder Than Bombs (1987). There's also a whopping 25 seven-inch singles. The singles are all listed below.

As if that weren't enough, the set contains a DVD called The Complete Picture, with all of the band's music videos. There is also twelve-inch art prints of each album cover, a twelve-inch booklet containing expanded liner notes, a poster, and high-quality digital downloads of every song. All of the tracks were remastered by Frank Arkwright and guitarist Johnny Marr from the original tape sources.

This box will cost a hefty £249.99 -- about $390 Canadian. Shipping is free in the UK, while international costs are understandably higher, given the weight of the package. There's currently no word as to whether the North American branch of Rhino will release the set as well.

If you're in the market for something a little cheaper than Complete, the label will also release a vinyl box for £149.99 ($232.28) and a CD box for £34.99 ($54.14). Order Complete here.

Thanks to Slicing Up Eyeballs for the tip.

Seven-inch singles:

1. "Hand in Glove" / "Handsome Devil (Live)"
2. "Reel Around the Fountain" / "Jeane"
3. "This Charming Man" / "Jeane"
4. "What Difference Does It Make?" / "Back to the Old House"
5. "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now / Suffer Little Children"
6. "William, It Was Really Nothing" / "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want"
7. "How Soon Is Now" / "Well I Wonder"
8. "Shakespeare's Sister" / "What She Said"
9. "The Headmaster Ritual" / "Oscillate Wildly"
10. "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore" / "Meat Is Murder (Live)"
11. "The Boy with the Thorn In His Side" / "Asleep"
12. "Bigmouth Strikes Again" / "Money Changes Everything"
13. "Panic" / "Vicar in a Tutu"
14. "Ask" / "Cemetry Gates"
15. "Shoplifters Of The World Unite" / "Half a Person"
16. "Sheila Take a Bow" / "Is It Really So Strange?"
17. "Girlfriend in a Coma" / "Work Is a Four Letter Word"
18. "I Started Something I Couldn't Finish" / "Pretty Girls Make Graves"
19. "Last Night I Dreamt Somebody Loved Me" / "Rusholme Ruffians"
20. "Sweet and Tender Hooligan" / "I Keep Mine Hidden"
21. "There Is a Light That Never Goes Out" / "Half a Person"
22. "Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others" / "The Draize Train"
23. "Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before" / "Girlfriend in a Coma"
24. "Hand in Glove" / "I Don't Owe You Anything"
25. "William, It Was Really Nothing" / "How Soon Is Now"