She & Him Announce Brian Wilson Covers Album, Share First New Release in Six Years

The twee revival agenda pencils in 'Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson' this summer

BY Kayla HigginsPublished May 18, 2022

She & Him will return with their first new release in six years to pay homage to one of the most beloved songwriters of all time with Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson.

The musical duo consisting of Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward have slated the 14-track covers album for a July 22 release date — and today, they've shared their dreamy rendition of the Beach Boys' 1967 tune "'Darlin'" and its accompanying video. The pair dial up the '80s-inspired release with an über-neon video directed by Lara Jean Gallagher, where we see the two peddling nail polish.

Marking She & Him's first project since their 2016 holiday album Christmas Party, the duo began a list of their favourite songs by Wilson, with the result featuring selections from both his time with the Beach Boys and his solo career. 

"We chose songs without any regard to their chart performance. The obscure ones hit us just as hard as the more popular songs — and all are ripe for re-imagining, re-interpreting and re-inventing," Deschanel and Ward explained in a statement. "Brian writes songs of beauty and loneliness and vulnerability better than anyone — and by sequencing them next to popular songs of confidence and love and fun, it creates a more complete picture of life on earth."

Wilson previously joined the duo for a new rendition of "Do It Again," praising the musicians and proclaiming in a statement: "Zooey and Matt did such mind-blowing versions of our songs. The harmonies are beautiful and right on. I love this record!"

They'll be making a lone Canadian stop in Vancouver on June 18 as a part of their previously announced Melt Away tour.

Watch the video for "'Darlin'" below, where you can also pre-order Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson and find its tracklist.

Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson:

1. Darlin'
2. Wouldn't It Be Nice
3. Til I Die
4. Deirdre
5. Melt Away
6. Good to My Baby
7. Don't Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)
8. Don't Worry Baby
9. This Whole World
10. Kiss Me, Baby
11. Do It Again (feat. Brian Wilson)
12. Heads You Win, Tails I Lose
13. Please Let Me Wonder
14. Meant for You

Pre-order Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson.

Latest Coverage