Secret Chiefs 3: Ishraqiyun Announce 'Perichoresis' LP

Secret Chiefs 3: Ishraqiyun Announce 'Perichoresis' LP
Experimental genre-crossers Secret Chiefs 3 are set to unleash a world of mind-expanding weirdness yet again, with news that the Trey Spruance-led collective will issue a new LP called Perichoresis by year's end. Web of Mimicry delivers the set November 11.

The album isn't being delivered by Secret Chiefs 3 proper, but rather one of their "satellite" iterations: Ishraqiyun. This variation has toured and performed countless times over the years, with the album featuring Spruance working with a cast of collaborators that includes Eyvind Kang (viola), Ches Smith (drums, percussion), Rich Doucette (sarangi, esraj), Peijman Kouretchian (drums), Mike Dillon (tabla), Shahzad Ismaily (bass), Timba Harris (violin), Jai Young Kim (keyboards) and more.

The album comprises material the band had previously performed in over 40 countries. The pieces bounce between original compositions and those based on Afghani tunes, putting a focus on "ratio-based rhythms" and utilizing "non-Western tunings and instruments." In addition to material fans may already be familiar with via live performances, half of the album is made up of fresh, unheard recordings. The material presented on Perichoresis was written anywhere between 2003 and 2014.

You'll get a very detailed perspective on each arrangement, from modal techniques to instrument breakdown to the list of contributors, over here. CD copies of the set have gone up for pre-sale over here.

You'll also find a diverse album preview of the set over here.

In related news, Secret Chiefs 3 are currently out on a North American tour, which includes several Canadian dates. You can see all the stops here.


1. The 15
2. The 7
3. Base Phive Futur Cossacks
4. Spiritus Intelligentiae: Jophiel
5. Perichoresis
6. Saptarshi