Saint Etienne Prep Expanded Reissues of 'Casino Classics' and Sarah Cracknell's 'Lipslide'

BY Alex HudsonPublished Oct 4, 2012

Saint Etienne have been reissuing their catalogue over the past few years, and a re-release of their 1996 remix collection Casino Classics was originally slated to come out in early 2011. Now, Saint Etienne have finally confirmed the details of that reissue, along with an expanded edition of singer Sarah Cracknell's 1997 solo album Lipslide. Both reissues will come out on November 12 in the UK through Heavenly.

Casino Classics will be available as a double-CD set, a limited-edition four-CD package and an expanded digital collection. The standard version includes 21 tracks, while the limited-edition version ups that number by 23. The digital version contains an additional 10 songs, making for a total of 54 remixes.

Containing remixes by the likes of Aphex Twin, Broadcast, Autechre and Underworld, the tracklist for the CD editions is below. Many of the bonus tracks were remixed between 1996 and 2012, after the original release of Casino Classics.

As for the reissue of Lipslide, it will come with a bonus disc featuring demos and various non-LP tracks. Originally released in 1997, this is Cracknell's only solo full-length to date. Co-produced by the singer herself, it has been out of print for several years.

With these releases, Saint Etienne have now remastered and reissued all their albums (except, of course, for Words and Music, which came out earlier this year).

As previously reported, Saint Etienne are touring North America this fall with a stop in Toronto. See the schedule here.

Casino Classics:

CD 1:

1. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Andrew Weatherall)

2. Like A Motorway (Chemical Brothers)

3. Kiss And Make Up (Peter Heller)

4. Speedwell (The Aloof)

5. Filthy (Monkey Mafia)

6. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Masters at Work)

7. Avenue (Gordon King)

8. Who Do You Think You Are (Aphex Twin)

9. Cool Kids of Death (Underworld)

10. Hug My Soul (Sure Is Pure)

CD 2:

1. Like a Motorway (David Holmes)

2. He's on the Phone (Motiv 8)

3. The Sea (PFM)

4. Angel (Broadcast)

5. Sylvie (Faze Action)

6. How We Used To Live (Paul Van Dyk)

7. Boy Is Crying (Hybrid)

8. Action (DJ Tiesto)

9. Heart Failed (Two Lone Swordsmen)

10. Burnt Out Car (Mark Brown)

11. Method of Modern Love (Richard X)

CD 3:

1. Nothing Can Stop Us (Masters at Work)

2. People Get Real (Death in Vegas)

3. Nothing Can Stop Us (Lionrock)

4. Join Our Club (Billy Nasty)

5. Who Do You Think You Are (Roger Sanchez)

6. Your Head My Voice (Aphex Twin)

7. Like A Motorway (Autechre)

8. Pale Movie (Secret Knowledge)

9. Sometimes in Winter (Psychonaughts)

10. He's on the Phone (Primax)

11. Angel (Way Out West)

CD 4:

1. Burnt Out Car (Balearico)

2. Sylvie (Trouser Enthusiast)

3. 4.35 in the Morning (Kid Loco)

4. Foto Stat (Bronx Dogs)

5. Uri Geller Bent My Boyfriend (Add N to X)

6. Loose That Girl (Trouser Enthusiast)

7. How We Used to Live (Aim)

8. Heart Failed (Bridge and Tunnel)

9. Northwestern (Si Cut DB)

10. Action (Laub)

11. Soft Like Me (K.O.W. Radiophonic)

12. Method of Modern Love (Cola Boy)


CD 1:

1. Ready or Not

2. Home

3. Coastal Town

4. Desert Baby

5. Anymore

6. How Far

7. Goldie

8. Taxi

9. Taking Off for France

10. If You Leave Me

11. Can't Stop Now

CD 2:

1. Ready or Not (demo)

2. Can't Stop Now (demo)

3. What Kind of Love

4. Fifth Floor

5. Aussie Soap Girl

6. You Just Won Me Over
7. Judy Don't You Worry

8. Sea Shells

9. Summer Song

10. Home (UK album version)

11. Departure Lounge

12. Empire State High

13. Open Your Eyes

14. What Happens Next

15. Miles Apart

Latest Coverage