Rush Treat 'Permanent Waves' to Expanded 40th Anniversary Reissue

Hear a newly shared live version of "The Spirit of the Radio"

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Feb 14, 2020

Rush's 1980 album Permanent Waves is getting a 40th anniversary reissue, and as could be expected, it's brimming with bonus content.

The expanded re-release is set to arrive on March 27 via Universal. It will arrive as a Super Deluxe edition, 2-CD set, 3-LP package and digitally.

That Super Deluxe version is obviously the most lavish, containing two CDs, three 180-gram vinyl records and a 40-page hardcover book. That tome will include reimagined artwork by original album designer Hugh Syme, unreleased photos from the band's archive and an exclusive 1,200-plus-word essay.

For the first time, the "Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015" version will be available on the first CD, while CD 2 is filled with previously unreleased bonus live tracks from three stops on the "Permanent Waves" world tour in 1980: Manchester's Manchester Apollo, London's Hammersmith Odeon and St. Louis's Kiel Auditorium. All the live tracks have been newly mixed by Rush's longtime producer Terry Brown.

For an idea of what's in store, you can hear the newly shared live version of "The Spirit of the Radio."

The expansive reissue also comes with various other goodies, and you can see what the package contains below alongside the tracklist. You can see a more detailed description of the set, as well as pre-order it, here.

Sadly, news of the reissue comes in the wake of the recent passing of beloved Rush drummer Neil Peart, who died in January at the age of 67.

Read Exclaim!'s Seven Rush Songs That Showcase the Drum Genius of Neil Peart.

Permanent Waves (40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition):

Disc 1:

1. The Spirit Of Radio

2. Freewill

3. Jacob's Ladder

4. Entre Nous

5. Different Strings

6. Natural Science

Disc 2:

1. Beneath, Between & Behind (Live in Manchester)

2. By-Tor & The Snow Dog (Live in London)

3. Xanadu (Live in London)

4. The Spirit Of Radio (Live in Manchester)

5. Natural Science (Live in Manchester)

6. The Trees (Live in Manchester)

7. Cygnus X-1 (Live in London)

8. Cygnus X-1 Book II (Live in London)

9. Closer To The Heart (Live in Manchester)

10. Jacob's Ladder (Live in Missouri)

11. Freewill (Live in London)

The vinyl will include "A Passage to Bangkok (Live in Manchester)"

Bonus Items:

* Official Permanent Waves World Tour 1980 Program

* The Words & Pictures Volume II - U.K. Tour Program

* Three Neil Peart Handwritten Lyric Sheet Lithos

* Three Band Member Backstage Laminates

* Le Studio 20-page Notepad

Latest Coverage