The Replacements to Give 'Songs for Slim' a Wide Release

The Replacements to Give 'Songs for Slim' a Wide Release
Previous reports have suggested that the Replacements' upcoming reunion EP, Songs for Slim, would only be available through an online auction, with all proceeds going to former 'Mats guitarist Slim Dunlap, who suffered a stroke last year. Luckily for fans on a tight budget, it turns out that Songs for Slim will receive a proper commercial release.

According to StarTribune [via Slicing Up Eyeballs], the auction will most likely begin on January 15 and run for 10 days. After these initial 250 vinyl copies — which come in fancy schmancy custom packaging — are sold out, New West Records will release the EP digitally and on standard vinyl. This wide release will likely happen soon, even within the next month.

While reports have indicated that the EP will include four cover tunes recorded in a day by frontman Paul Westerberg and bassist Tommy Stinson, the newly unveiled tracklist indicates that there are actually five songs. In addition to covers of Dunlap, Leon Payne, Gordon Lightfoot and the musical Gypsy, Songs for Slim also includes a version of Dunlap's "Radio Hook Word Hit" by former Replacements drummer Chris Mars.

Making this whole thing even more notable is that this won't be the last Songs for Slim release. As previously revealed, it will turn into a full-blown series of split 7-inches, each of which will feature covers of Dunlap's songs by various friends and admirers. Folks signed up for the series include Steve Earle, Craig Finn (the Hold Steady), Lucinda Williams, Tommy Keene, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Jakob Dylan, John Doe, the Jayhawks, Joe Henry, the Minus 5 (with Peter Buck), and Curtiss A.

The Replacements shared the back cover of their Songs for Slim EP on Facebook. The tracklist is below.

Songs for Slim:

A1. Busted Up

A2. Radio Hook Word Hit

B1. I'm Not Saying

B2. Lost Highway

B3. Everything's Coming Up Roses