The Rapture Play DJ For !K7 Tapes Mix

The Rapture Play DJ For !K7 <i>Tapes</i> Mix
The post-punk party dudes of the Rapture have announced the details of their next album, but rather than giving us a proper Pieces of the People We Love follow-up, they’re entering the musical pissing contest that is the DJ mix. Via !K7, the New Yorkers will release Tapes, which finds the band digging up and throwing down some New York underground classics, as well as a bit of Euro fare.

According to the press release:

Tapes is a treasure trove of rare grooves and cult classics spanning three decades, from the late 1970s to 2008. One key thread running through the mix is the evergreen sound of the New York underground, epitomized by classic tunes like Vaughan Mason & Crew’s 1980 disco-rap milestone "Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll” and the irresistible beat-pop ditty "I’m An Indian Too,” recorded in 1979 by East Harlem’s Don Armando and his Second Avenue Rumba Band. NYC’s latest clubland stars also make their mark, from neo-disco supergroup Arcade Lover to hip-hop DJ Frog’s dazzling robo-funk alter ego, Dances With White Girls.

Also on the Rapture’s eclectic mix you can find artists like Daft Punk’s silver-helmed half Thomas Bangalter, folkie Richie Havens, DFA up-and-comers Syclops and the always lovable Ghostface Killah.

There is still no word on the next proper album by the Rapture but the release date for Tapes is November 25 (October 20 in Europe). Let’s hope with this one !K7 sticks with the date rather than pushing it way back like the label’s long-promised DJ Kicks installment by Burial, which was originally supposed to hit North America on July 8 but now has the release date of November 11.

Here is the tracklisting for Tapes:

1. The Undisputed Truth "Earthquake Shake"
2. Ghostface Killah "Daytona 500"
3. Junkyard Band "The Word"
4. The Bar-Kays "Holy Ghost"
5. Vaughan Mason & Crew "Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll"
6. Northend "Tee's Happy"
7. Don Armando's Second Avenue Rumba Band "I'm an Indian Too"
8. Martin Circus "Disco Circus"
9. Arcade Lover "Fantasy Lines"
10. Thomas Bangalter "Club Soda"
11. Kiloo & Phonique "The Passion (Phonique Mix Down)"
12. Armand Van Helden "Flowerz"
13. Cajmere [ft. Dajae] "Say U Will"
14. Syclops "Where's Jason's K"
15. DJ Mujava "Township Funk"
16. Donk Boys "Cpstyre"
17. Dances With White Girls "Everybody's Got to Make a Living"
18. Alter Ego "Why Not?!"
19. Paul Johnson "Get Get Down (Extended Mix)"
20. Kid Crème "Austin's Groove"
21. Richie Havens "Going Back to My Roots"
22. Galaxy 2 Galaxy "Afro Arps and Minimoogs (S2)"

The Rapture "Whoo! Alright Yeah... Uh Huh”