Rainer Maria Reunite for Their First Album in over a Decade

You can hear the album's "Lower Worlds" now
Rainer Maria Reunite for Their First Album in over a Decade
While American indie rock unit Rainer Maria may have called it quits way back in 2007, the reunited group are now returning with their first new album in over a decade.

Rainer Maria's comeback album will be titled S/T, and it will see release on August 18 via the trio's original label home, Polyvinyl Records. The record was produced by the band's own William Kuehn and mixed by Deerhoof's Greg Saunier. It marks the group's first album since 2006's Catastrophe Keeps Us Together.

Along with the album announcement, the group have shared their new song "Lower Worlds," which you can hear at the bottom of the page.

A press release has this to say about the group's new album: "Guided by their shared history as songwriters, and buoyed by their recent adventures and explorations in music and life as individuals, S/T fits like well worn boots with the spring of new soles. Intuitively written without much post-mortem intellectualization, the album benefits from its origin as an exercise in fun between old friends who didn't necessarily have the intention of releasing a new record when they started down the path."

For a taste of that, listen to "Lower Worlds" below. You can also pre-order the album here.


1. Broke Open Love

2. Suicides and Lazy Eyes

3. Lower Worlds

4. Forest Mattress

5. Blackbird

6. Possession

7. Ornaments of Empty

8. Communicator

9. Hellebore