Pennywise Revisit Vintage Tracks for 'Yesterdays' LP

Pennywise Revisit Vintage Tracks for 'Yesterdays' LP
Timing up nicely to Pennywise's joint "Summer Nationals" anniversary tour with punk pals the Offspring and Bad Religion, the Hermosa Beach melodic hardcore vets have announced they're bundling up a bunch of previously unrecorded cuts for a new album. The fittingly titled Yesterdays arrives July 15 via Epitaph.

  A press release for the record explains that the much of Yesterdays was written by the group's late bassist Jason Thirsk, who passed away in 1996 from a self-inflicted gunshot wound. With frontman Jim Lindberg back in the fold following a hiatus from the group, Pennywise opted to revisit these old tracks as a tribute to their fallen friend and to get back to their roots.

"We always wanted to go back and record these songs because later in our career we started to get more political and angry — that may have turned some people off but that's what we were feeling at the time," Lindberg said in a statement. "In the back of our minds we knew we had these cool, old songs that were more life-affirming, it just took us 25 years to get back to it."

The 11-song set, which is coincidentally also their 11th studio full-length, was recorded in their hometown over the course of a couple of days. You'll find the tracklisting, as well as a live footage-assisted video for the album's "Violence Never Ending," down below.

As for the "Summer Nationals" tour, the trip starts off in late July and will find all of the acts heading into Canada a couple of times. You'll find the specifics on stops in Toronto and Montreal over here. Pennywise will also play two record release shows for Yesterdays: July 16 in Santa Ana, CA, and July 18 in L.A.


1. What You Deserve
2. Restless Time
3. Noise Pollution
4. Violence Never Ending
5. Am Oi!
6. Thanksgiving
7. She's A Winner
8. Slow Down
9. Public Defender
10. No Way Out
11. I Can Remember