Orville Peck / FRIGS Members Form Bria, Sign to Sub Pop for 'Cuntry Covers Vol. 1' EP

Hear their cover of Karen Dalton's "Green Rocky Road"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jul 12, 2021

Bria Salmena and Duncan Hay Jennings of FRIGS and Orville Peck's band have announced plans for a covers EP under their new project, Bria. The newly Sub Pop-signed duo will release Cuntry Covers Vol. 1 digitally on September 24 and physically on December 10 through their new label home.

The six-track EP will feature reworks of classics by Waylon Jennings, John Cale, Lucinda Williams, the Walker Brothers, Mistress Mary and Karen Dalton.

Despite serving as Peck's right hand in his live band for so many years, and Bria's expert country curation, Salmena doesn't consider herself a country artist in the traditional sense. 

"I feel as though I'm a visitor here," she explained in a statement, "paying respect to a style that has informed a part of my musical identity. Country music, as much as any other art form, should be an arena for representation, expression, and provocation. I have a ton of reverence for artists who came before me and challenged the primarily white-heterosexual status quo."

Today, the pair have shared a cover of Dalton's "Green Rocky Road," along with a video co-directed by Andrew Matthews and Maitland Austin-Olsen. The accompanying visuals are meant to act as an homage to the Cuntry Covers concept, serving as "a small window into the world in which it was created, highlighting the collaborative nature of the project and the friendships behind it," according to the band.

Watch the video below, where you can also see the EP's full tracklisting.

Cuntry Covers Vol. 1:

1. Green Rocky Road (Karen Dalton)
2. Dreaming My Dreams With You (Waylon Jennings)
3. Buffalo Ballet (John Cale)
4. Fruits of My Labour (Lucinda Williams)
5. The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Anymore (The Walker Brothers)
6. I Don't Wanna Love Ya Now (Mistress Mary)

Latest Coverage