Nilüfer Yanya Announces New Album 'Painless,' Shares New Song

"Stabilise" comes with a video directed by Yanya's sister
Nilüfer Yanya Announces New Album 'Painless,' Shares New Song
Nilüfer Yanya has announced the full-length follow-up to her 2019 debut Miss Universe. Painless is arriving March 4 on ATO, and today sees the release of first single "Stabilise," which comes attached to a Molly Daniel-directed video. 

In a press release about the record, Yanya said, "It's a record about emotion. I think it's more open about that in a way that Miss Universe wasn't because there's so many cloaks and sleeves with the concept I built around it […] I'm not as scared to admit my feelings."

The new single is tight and nervy, written around Yanya's dexterous guitar playing and a rapid-fire beat.

"I was really thinking about your surroundings and how much they influence or change your perception of things," Yanya said of the track. "A lot of the city is just grey and concrete, there's no escape." 

She continued: "The video plays on the central theme in the song of no one coming to save you ever. It's set in depths of reality in everyday life where we are the only ones truly capable of salvaging or losing ourselves. Nothing is out there — both a depressing and reassuring statement (depending on how you look at it)."

Last year, Yanya released the four-song Feeling Lucky? EP. 

Watch the video for "Stabilise" and check out the Painless tracklist below. 


1. The Dealer
2. L/R
3. Shameless
4. Stabilise
5. Chase me
6. Midnight sun
7. Trouble
8. Try
9. Company
10. Belong with You
11. The Mystic
12. Anotherlife

Pre-order Painless.