Nicolas Jaar Issues Surprise Freelease, 'Pomegranates'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jun 25, 2015

Earlier this year, electronic artist Nicolas Jaar announced plans to deliver a new score to director Sergei Parajanov's 1969 film, The Color of Pomegranates. It seemingly won't be paired with the flick in cinema houses anytime soon, so Jaar opted to release his score today (June 24) for free.

The New York producer announced the freelease this afternoon via Twitter, with his message including a link for a download of the 20-song score.

Pomegranates also comes with liner notes that describe that some of the songs were made before Jaar had even heard of Parajanov's film, while others were initially meant for other projects. "Shame," for instance, is an unused hip-hop beat, while "Survival" was an early attempt at his "Ghetto" beat for DJ Slugo.

He added that "Garden of Eden" was brought to life in his living room while "a huge water bug started dancing on top of some cables on the floor." Portions of the score were also meant for an unnamed TV project. "Volver" is a choir version of a song dating back to 2011 called "Revolver," which itself will be released at a later date.

After watching The Color of Pomegranates for the first time earlier this year, Jaar opted to bring together the various tracks and make a new score. It should be noted, however, that "this version of pomegranates does not sync with film."

Jaar added, "The film gave me a structure to follow and themes to stick to. It gave clarity to this music that was made mostly out of and through chaos. It also gave me the balls to put it out."

You can download Pomegranates over here.


1. Garden of Eden
2. Construction
3. Pass the Time
4. Survival
5. The Fool and His Harem
6. Nothingness
7. Near Death
8. Beasts of This Earth
9. Fall Into Time
10. Folie à deux
11. Screams at the Edge of Dawn
12. Divorce
13. Three Windows
14. Tourists
15. Shame
16. Tower of Sin
17. Club Kapital
18. Volver
19. Spirit
20. Muse

Latest Coverage