Mystery Machine

'Western Magnetics' (album stream)

BY Alex HudsonPublished Sep 3, 2012

The return of Vancouver's Mystery Machine earlier this year was an unexpected but welcome treat. Western Magnetics is the shoegaze-minded rock unit's first album since 1998's Headfirst into Everything, and now the wait is finally over. Prior to the album's release on September 11 via Sonic Unyon, you can stream the entire record here at

These 10 songs have been a long time in the making, since they were recorded over a period that stretched from 1999 to 2011. During this time, different lineups completed sessions with a handful of producers in various studios. Original drummer Jordan Pratt appears on half the tracks, while more recent addition Mario Nieva performs on the others. This means that the album is both a glance back and a look forwards.

Sessions took place at the Vancouver studios Mushroom, Slack and Big Midget, with recording overseen by producers Vince Jones, Blair Calibaba and Tim Oberthier.

Check out the sonically ambitious album below to hear what the band members have been up to for all those years.

Along with the new album, Mystery Machine will be out touring on some Canadian dates, which you can see here.

Latest Coverage