Melvins Announce New Album 'Working with God'

They are also treating 'Hostile Ambient Takeover' and 'Gluey Porch Treatments' to vinyl reissues

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Nov 13, 2020

Proving to be as prolific as ever, Melvins have announced a new studio album, in addition to a pair of upcoming vinyl reissues. The new studio effort is called Working with God, which will arrive via Ipecac Recordings on February 26. On that same day, we'll be treated to repressings of 2002's Hostile Ambient Takeover and 1987's Gluey Porch Treatments.

Working with God marks the second Melvins release from the 1983 iteration of the band, which features Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover and original drummer Mike Dillard. The last one to arrive from that lineup was their 2013 album Tres Cabrones.

For a taste of what to expect, you can stream a pair of songs from the upcoming record: "I Fuck Around" (a re-imagined cover of the Beach Boys' "I Get Around") and "Bouncing Rick," a song about Osborne and Dillard's junior high biology teacher.

In a statement about "I Fuck Around," Osbourne said, "It's reflective of our 8th grade sense of humour, which we've never grown out of. We hope Brian Wilson doesn't get mad."

As for the reissues of Hostile Ambient Takeover and Gluey Porch Treatments, they will arrive in a bunch of different variants, and you can pre-order them now. This will mark the first-ever vinyl release of Hostile Ambient Takeover.

Working with God:

1. I Fuck Around
2. Negative No No
3. Bouncing Rick
4. Caddy Daddy
5. 1 Brian, The Horse-Faced Goon
6. Bria n The Horse-Faced Goon
7. Boy Mike
8. 1 Fuck You
9.Fuck You

10. The Great Good Place

11. Hot Fish

12. Hund

13. Good Night Sweetheart

Latest Coverage