Megadeth Detail New Album 'The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead!' with Ice-T, Sammy Hagar

Watch a video for new song "We'll Be Back"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 23, 2022

Megadeth have announced their 16th studio album. Dave Mustaine and co. will deliver The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead! on September 2 via Universal.

Following 2016's Dystopia, the 14-track The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead! was co-produced by Mustaine and Chris Rakestraw, and is said to find MegaDave opening up the songwriting process to include his bandmates for a "furious return to form."

Alongside Mustaine, Megadeth's current lineup features guitarist Kiko Loureiro, drummer Dirk Verbeuren, and returning alumnus, bassist James LoMenzo. Following the departure of bassist Dave Ellefson, Steve DiGiorgio recorded bass for the new effort, replacing Ellefson's tracks.

A look at the album's tracklist, found below, finds an appearance from Ice-T on "Night Stalkers," a cover of Dead Kennedys' satirical staple "Police Truck," and a cover of Sammy Hagar's "This Planet's on Fire (Burn in Hell)" featuring the man himself. No word if we'll get any songs about the tyranny of mask-wearing or presidential bathroom breaks.

The first track to arrive from the album is "We'll Be Back," which you can hear below alongside the first instalment of a short film trilogy chronicling the origins of Megadeth's skeletal mascot, Vic Rattlehead. Produced by Mustaine, We'll Be Back: Chapter I is "a soldier's tale of bravery, personal sacrifice, and the will to survive."

The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead!

1. The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead!
2. Life in Hell
3. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice-T)
4. Dogs of Chernobyl
5. Sacrifice
6. Junkie
7. Psychopathy
8. Killing Time
9. Soldier On!
10. Célebutante
11. Mission to Mars
12. We'll Be Back
13. Police Truck (Dead Kennedys cover)
14. This Planet's on Fire (Burn In Hell) (Sammy Hagar cover feat. Sammy Hagar)

Latest Coverage