Meat Puppets' Original Lineup Reforms for New Album

Hear a first track from 'Dusty Notes' now
Meat Puppets' Original Lineup Reforms for New Album
Just over five years removed from their Rat Farm album, Meat Puppets have welcomed original drummer Derrick Bostrom back into the fold for a new effort set to arrive next year.

Titled Dusty Notes, the 10-track effort arrives March 8 through Megaforce. It marks the group's first LP with all three original members since 1995's No Joke! The album also features contributions from keyboardist Ron Stabinsky and founder Curt Kirkwood's son, Elmo, on guitar.

In an email to NPR, Bostrom wrote that the trio were inspired to reform following a performance celebrating the group's induction into the Arizona Music & Entertainment Hall of Fame last August:

When I first heard the Meat Puppets were being inducted into the Arizona Music & Entertainment Hall of Fame, I was ambivalent. I hadn't spoken to either Kirkwood brother in more than a decade. But as people at work kept coming up to me, so excited and so proud, I came to realize how much it meant to our fans. I looked past my trepidation and reached out to Curt, who turned out to be just as ambivalent as I was. I knew then that it was meant to be.

Our performance at the induction ceremony left tears in our eyes. It felt like time had stopped — we were the same three guys we'd always been. Fast forward to spring of this year. Curt called to tell me their last drummer, Shandon Sahm, had decided to relocate to Amsterdam, permanently. When we met in the studio a month later, we all knew something special was happening.

The Arizona Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame ceremony reminded us of what makes the Meat Puppets special. Even though I hadn't played with them for more than 20 years, it re-lit a spark that still gives me the chills. I think Dusty Notes is a revelation. We're returning to our core, while exploring new territories and sounds.

Ahead of time, the band have shared lead single "Warranty," which you can hear below. Meat Puppets are also planning to tour the United States in 2019, though dates have yet to be announced.

Dusty Notes:

1. Warranty
2. Nine Pins
3. On
4. Unfrozen Memory
5. Dusty Notes
6. The Great Awakening
7. Sea of Heartbreak
8. Nightcap
9. Vampyr's Winged Fantasy
10. Outflow