Mdou Moctar Hold a 'Funeral for Justice' on New Album

Watch a video for the album's title track

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 28, 2024

Mdou Moctar have returned with a new album. The Nigerian quartet, led by the eponymous guitarist, will share Funeral for Justice on May 3 via Matador Records.

Following acclaimed sixth album Afrique Victime — which Exclaim! named among the Best Albums of 2021Funeral for Justice is said to find the group in "ferocious form" by comparison, playing music that is "louder, faster, and more wild" in speaking to the plight of Niger and of the Tuareg people through song.

"This album is really different for me," explains singer-guitarist Moctar in a release. "Now the problems of terrorist violence are more serious in Africa. When the US and Europe came here, they said they're going to help us, but what we see is really different. They never help us to find a solution."

"Mdou Moctar has been a strong anti-colonial band ever since I've been a part of it," says producer and bassist Mikey Coltun. "France came in, fucked up the country, then said 'you’re free.' And they’re not."

Following the completion of Funeral for Justice in July 2023, Niger's democratically elected government was deposed in a violent military coup — leaving Moctar, guitarist Ahmoudou Madassane and drummer Souleymane Ibrahim temporarily stuck in the US following a North American tour.

The album's title track, which you can hear accompanied by a video below, finds Moctar addressing African leaders directly: "Retake control of your countries, rich in resources / Build them and quit sleeping."

"I don't support the coup," Moctar explains, "but I never in my life liked France in my country. I don't hate France or French people, I don't hate American people either, but I don't support their manipulative policies, what they do in Africa. In 2023 we want to be free, we need to smile, you understand?"

Mdou Moctar have also announced a North American tour for June following April engagements at Coachella. While no Canadian dates are featured, further details can be found via the group's official website.


Funeral for Justice:

1. Funeral for Justice 
2. Imouhar 
3. Takoba 
4. Sousoume 
5. Imagerhan 
6. Tchinta 
7. Djallo #1 
8. Oh France 
9. Modern Slaves

Latest Coverage