Matthew Barber Readies "Uplifting" New Album

Matthew Barber Readies 'Uplifting' New Album
Toronto singer-songwriter Matthew Barber has been releasing albums for a good decade, something which qualifies him for "veteran" status in the Canadian music scene. Over the course of three studio albums plus an EP, Barber has never deviated far from the traditional singer-songwriter modal, drawing on folk, pop and rock for a familiar but undeniably pleasant sound.

Barber is now poised to release his fourth album, True Believer, on February 23 via Outside Music. According to a press release, the collection "doesn't deviate radically from Barber's previous albums," although it does promise to be more "uplifting" than his earlier, gloomier releases. Produced by Howie Beck (Hayden, Jason Collett), it emphasizes songwriting over lavish arrangements, and as Barber notes, "[it] is a mixture of stripped-down live performances and more produced tracks that hopefully live together as part of a unified musical statement."

No tour dates have been announced, but look for Barber to hit the road in the new year with a world tour.

True Believer:

1. "Feel My Love"
2. "Comeback Baby"
3. "Revolution of the Sun"
4. "Lonesome Feeling"
5. "Little Things"
6. "True Believer"
7. "Insanity or Death"
8. "While Away"
9. "Hawks on the Highway"
10. "Suddenly"