Mates of State Climb 'Mountaintops' on New LP

Mates of State Climb 'Mountaintops' on New LP
The last we heard from Mates of State, the quirky indie pop duo released Crushes (The Covers Mixtape), containing peppy pop renditions of some of their favourite songs. Now, they have finished their first album of original material since 2008's Re-Arrange Us.

The new LP is called Mountaintops and it's slated to arrive in stores on September 13 via Barsuk Records. It was laid down over a year-and-a-half in six studios, and these disparate sessions were pulled together by big-name indie studio whiz Chris Coady (Grizzly Bear, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV on the Radio).

There's no word as to whether this will mark a return to the band's formerly frenetic, organ-heavy style or if it will showcase the calmer piano textures of Re-Arrange Us. In any case, with the release date three months away, we're bound to hear a sampling from the disc soon enough. For now, satisfy yourself with the tracklist below.


1. "Palomino"
2. "Maracas"
3. "Sway"
4. "Unless I'm Led"
5. "Total Serendipity"
6. "Basement Money"
7. "At Least I Have You"
8. "Desire"
9. "Change"
10. "Mistakes"