Masta Killa Returns with 'Selling My Soul'

Masta Killa Returns with 'Selling My Soul'
While Masta Killa offered up a set of Wu-Tang-related rarities back in 2010, the New York rapper hasn't actually delivered a proper solo LP since 2006's Made in Brooklyn. The MC will now be making up for lost time with not one but two new albums.

First up will be Selling My Soul, which Masta Killa describes in a press release as featuring "Soulful music and lyrics of substance." You can pre-order standard and deluxe versions of the set now on the rapper's website, with CDs shipping December 4 and the vinyl expected to arrive in January via Nature Sounds/Royal Lion Music.

The 16-song set features production work from the likes of 9th Wonder, Mathematics, and PF Cuttin, as well as features guest verses from Kurupt and the late Ol' Dirty Bastard. According to Masta Killa, the soul-driven album expands his sonic palette. You can sample previously premiered album track "Things Just Ain't the Same" in the YouTube clip down below.

"The music for this project was more in a soulful chamber," he said in a statement. "Anything from the inner self is a part of the soul. I put my soul into my music, and I'm in the business of selling it."

On top of the standard editions, a limited-edition run of 200 deluxe box sets will gather the new material with a full lyric book, poster, wool cap and download card containing all three of Masta Killa's studio albums. On top of that, a live concert, rolling papers and T-shirt are also included. You can find out more details here.

Hip Hop DX reports that his long-promised Loyalty Is Royalty is also still in the works but a street date yet been delivered.

"Loyalty Is Royalty is more feature-oriented," Masta Killa said. "It's the kind of material that my fans normally expect me to produce. The people will still get Loyalty Is Royalty. I just felt the need to give them some soul first."

Selling My Soul:

1. Skit
2. Intro
3. Soul & Substance
4. R U Listening
5. Things Just Ain't The Same
6. Part 2
7. Cali Sun (ft. Kurupt)
8. What U See
9. Food
10. Skit
11. All Natural
12. Wise Words
13. Divine Glory
14. Skit
15. Dirty Soul (ft. Ol' Dirty Bastard)