Magnolia Electric Co. Prep Josephine

Magnolia Electric Co. Prep <i>Josephine</i>
Having taken a hefty break since their last album, Fading Trails, and 2007's Sojourner box set, Jason Molina's folk rock group Magnolia Electric Co. have announced the details of their next LP. Titled Josephine, the record will arrive via Secretly Canadian on July 21.

The album, which is touted as a concept album of sorts, is dedicated to long-time bass player Evan Farrell, who passed away in late 2007 while these songs were in their planning phase. As a result, the songs on Josephine see the band attempting to make true the hopes Farrell had for the record.

Recorded by Steve Albini, the record also promises some new sonic territory from the band. As the press release says, "There are cues taken from great songwriters like Willie Nelson and Warren Zevon, i.e., the horn section throughout the record and especially the sax solo on the Zevon-esque lead track 'O! Grace,' or the doo-wop leanings found in 'Rock of Ages.'"

The title track is available as a free download here.

As we previously announced, the band released a new seven-inch in April.

Josephine tracklisting:

1. "O! Grace"
2. "The Rock Of Ages"
3. "Josephine"
4. "Shenandoah"
5. "Whip-poor-will"
6. "Song For Willie"
7. "Hope Dies Last"
8. "The Handing Down"
9. "Map Of The Falling Sky"
10. "Little Sad Eyes"
11. "Heartbreak At Ten Paces"
12. "Little Knoxville Girl"
13. "Shiloh"
14. "An Arrow In The Gale"