Louise Burns Revels in Mellow Drama on Debut Album

Louise Burns Revels in <i>Mellow Drama</i> on Debut Album
When Exclaim! spoke with Light Organ Records founder Jonathan Simkin late last year, he promised that the newly minted label would begin rolling out new releases in early 2011. Sure enough, the Vancouver-based indie imprint has announced that Louise Burns's Mellow Drama will drop on April 5.

This is the debut solo album from Burns, who is a former member of the Juno-nominated pop rock outfit Lillix, as well as the Blue Violets. As for what inspired her latest musical direction, Burns said in a press release, "I'm really obsessed with '50s and '60s pop music and rock'n'roll -- that's my favourite thing in the world."

The LP contains 12 tracks, of which 11 are originals, plus a cover of Leonard Cohen's "Gypsy Wife," with the whole thing promising to be "shoegazey" and "Mazzy Star-esque."

You can get an advance taste by downloading the single "What Do You Wanna Do" here. At the bottom of the page, you can also see a star-dazzled music video for the track.

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. Vancouver fans can catch Burns live on February 1 at the Railway Club, where she will be joined by her backing band the Moonshiners.

Mellow Drama:

1. "Chinook (Sing from the Valley of Doubt)"
2. "Burning Bridges"
3. "Teen Angst"
4. "What Do You Wanna Do"
5. "Drop Names Not Bombs"
6. "Island Vacation"
7. "Sea Song"
8. "Clean"
9. "Paper Cup"
10. "Street Walking"
11. "Gypsy's Wife"
12. "Ocean Grey"

Louise Burns - What Do You Wanna Do? from Light Organ Records on Vimeo.