Lone Announces 'Levitate' LP

Lone Announces 'Levitate' LP
British beatsmith Lone had listeners call a hotline last month to hear a new single. Now, he's revealed it was more than a one-off with the announcement of a new studio album titled Levitate.

Arriving this month through R&S Records, the record is nine tracks in length and is described as an energetic effort, inspired by fever-induced hallucinations during a short break from touring in New York. 

"It was pretty terrifying — I'd try to go to sleep and I'd be hearing these mad rave tunes form in my head," he said in a statement. "When I recovered I was left with all these ideas for fast, feverish tunes."

He continued: "Following that we went to L.A. and hung out with friends, driving round all day in the baking sun playing these jungle and hardcore edits – all the best bits from rare jungle tunes, spliced together. There was something that really seemed to fit hearing these ridiculously energetic tracks whilst speeding around L.A. under perfect blue skies, that was amazingly similar to the music I'd been dreaming up whilst in New York…After making a record as mellow as Reality Testing it was important to me to not repeat myself — I wanted it to be an intense blast."

Levitate arrives May 27 through R&S. Take a listen to the newly released "Vapour Trail" in the player below. As you'll see from the tracklist, the previously shared "Backtail Was Heavy" is also on the album.


1. Alpha Wheel
2. Backtail Was Heavy
3. The Morning Birds
4. Vapour Trail
5. Triple Helix
6. Breeze Out
7. Sleepwalkers
8. Sea Of Tranquility
9. Hiraeth