​Laura Marling Announces 'Semper Femina' LP, Shares New Video

​Laura Marling Announces 'Semper Femina' LP, Shares New Video
We heard from Laura Marling earlier this year when she launched a new podcast project called Reversal of the Muse, exploring femininity in creativity. Now, she's revealed that a new album is on the way.
Semper Femina is due out on March 10 through Marling's own More Alarming label. The record will mark the follow-up to 2015's Short Movie, and while it was written primarily on the road over the course of last year, it was captured to tape in Los Angeles with producer Blake Mills.
The new album picks up on similar themes to those discussed on Reversal of the Muse, addressing "questions of how society views sexuality and gender but without seeking to provide definitive answers."
"I started out writing Semper Femina as if a man was writing about a woman," Marling said in a statement. "And then I thought it's not a man, it's me — I don't need to pretend it's a man to justify the intimacy of the way I'm looking and feeling about women. It's me looking specifically at women and feeling great empathy towards them and by proxy towards myself."
The nine-song tracklisting for Semper Femina can be found below. The vinyl version of the album features two discs, the second one containing a live recording of the album in its entirety from a show at Martyrs' in Chicago.
The first preview of the upcoming album arrives with lead single "Soothing." The new track comes complete with an accompanying music video, which was directed by Marling herself. Scroll past the tracklisting and hit play to check it out.
Semper Femina:
1. Soothing
2. The Valley
3. Wild Fire
4. Don't Pass Me By
5. Always This Way
6. Wild Once
7. Next Time
8. Nouel
9. Nothing Not Nearly