L CON Gears Up for 'The Ballads Reimagined' and Toronto Live Series

L CON Gears Up for 'The Ballads Reimagined' and Toronto Live Series
Lisa Conway only has one EP under her belt in the form of last fall's The Ballad Project, but the Toronto songwriter known as L CON will be revisiting that material with the release of The Ballads Reimagined. It's due out March 5 via Daps Records.

This seven-song set is described in a press release as an "electronic interpretation" of The Ballad Project. Five of the songs are the same, while the other two are brand new. They were recorded by L CON in her apartment in Toronto's Parkdale neighbourhood and mixed by Ohbijou's Heather Kirby.

This electronic project was reportedly inspired by a well-received live performance. It's only fitting, then, that L CON will launch it with a series of three live shows in Toronto. Each of these gigs will emphasize a different element of The Ballads Reimagined: bass/voice/machines, strings/voice, and voice.

At these shows, L CON will be selling balsa wood gliders (which we assume means model airplanes), along with a download code for The Ballads Reimagined.

At the bottom of this page, watch a music video for "The Stirring Within." This haunting opening cut from The Ballads Reimagined mixes organic and electronic instrumentation. The clip was filmed using a cellphone in California and Arizona this summer.

The Ballads Reimagined:

1. The Stirring Within
2. Come the Autumn
3. Oh How Love
4. Haunted by the Light
5. To Forget
6. Tangled
7. In Honour Of

Tour dates:

3/8 Toronto, ON - Tranzac (bass, voice, machines) *
3/14 Toronto, ON - Holy Oak (strings, voice) ^
3/16 Toronto, ON - Saving Gigi (voice) ~

* with the Mike Smith Group
^ with Ryan Driver
~ with Isla Craig

THE STIRRING WITHIN. from lisa conway on Vimeo.