King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Get Peaches, DJ Shadow, the Flaming Lips for Remix Album 'Butterfly 3001'

The new collection also features Yu Su, Scientist, Ciel, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Dâm-Funk and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Dec 6, 2021

Earlier this year, we deemed King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard's album Butterfly 3000 "the least King Gizzard-sounding record of theirs yet," and the prolific outfit will further their experimentation with a star-studded crew of collaborators on a new remix collection.

The band's Butterfly 3001 remix album arrives January 21 via their KGLW label, and features reinterpretations of Butterfly 3000 tracks from the likes of DJ Shadow, Peaches, the Scientist, the Flaming Lips, Yu Su, CielDâM-FunK, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Mall Grab and more.

First to arrive from Butterfly 3001 are Peaches' remix of "Neu Butterfly" and the Scientist's dub of "Shanghai," both of which you can hear below. Peaches shared in a statement that their goal was "to make this remix sound like a lizard. Slippery wet and scaly dry. Something that wiggles through wide open spaces… with slits for eyeballs…. And danceable."

King Gizzard's Joey Walker elaborates: "We've put off doing a remix album for a long time. Maybe it was conscious, maybe it wasn't. But it's happening now. That's not to say that Butterfly 3000 makes the most sense to remix. It might seem like the obvious one, but it's not. Yes it's electronic. But so is a fridge. Have you tried to dance to Butterfly? It's hard. It ties your shoelaces together. It's duplicitous in its simplicity. But Butterfly 3001 expands on this. It also deviates and obliterates. We're honoured to have such esteemed people go to work on these songs. We hope you love this album as much as we do. See you in DA CLUB!!!"
Earlier this year, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard released album L.W., which followed last year's K.G..

Butterfly 3001:

1. Black Hot Soup (DJ Shadow "My Own Reality" Re-Write)
2. Shanghai (The Scientist Dub)
3. Shanghai (Deaton Chris Anthony Remix)
4. Dreams (Yu Su Instrumental Mix)
5. Blue Morpho (Donato Dozzy Remix)
6. Blue Morpho (VRIL Remix)
7. Blue Morpho (Ciel's Fluttering Dub)
8. Blue Morpho (ZANDOLI II remix)
9. Catching Smoke (DāM-FunK Instrumental Re-Freak)
10. Ya Love (Flaming Lips' Fascinating Haircut Re-Do)
11. Ya Love (Geneva Jacuzzi Remix)
12. Ya Love (Héctor Oaks playing w/ Fire Mix)
13. 2.02 Killer Year (Bullant's Fuck Mike Love Remix)
14. Yours (Fred P Journey Mix)
15. Butterfly 3000 (Terry Tracksuit Remix)
16. Neu Butterfly 3000 (Peaches Remix)
17. Catching Smoke (4am Wack Rmx By Hieroglyphic Being) *
18. Blue Morpho (Mall Grab Remix) *
19. Dreams (Peaking Lights Trancedellic Macrodosing Mix) *
20. Interior People (Confidence Man Remix) *
21. Catching Smoke (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix) *
* digital release only

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage