King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Announce New Album 'Butterfly 3000'

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Announce New Album 'Butterfly 3000'
Photo by Jason Galea
It's almost impossible to keep track of everything King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard are up to, but we can always rest assured that the prolific band are perpetually about to drop a new album. Their next — a full-length called Butterfly 3000 — has just been announced.

The record marks King Gizz's 18th album overall and their second of 2021, following the recent L.W., which Exclaim! said proved they were "masters of their realm" despite its lack of surprises. Perhaps they read our review, because they've decided the next one will be all surprises.

Other than the title, the album's current tracklisting is a series of question marks. Further, we don't know what the album art looks like, nor do we get a taste with an advance single. And apparently, no teaser songs will come out at all before the release.

According to a press release, the tracks started as arpeggiated loops on modular synthesizers that were then written on top of, resulting in 10 dream-pop songs that became what is apparently "the most accessible and jubilant album of their career."

That's all we know for now, but Butterfly 3000 will arrive on June 11 via the band's own KGLW label.

Butterfly 3000:

1. ?
2. ?
3. ?
4. ?
5. ??
6. ?????
7. ?????
8. ?????
9. ?????
10. ?!?!?!?!

Pre-order Butterfly 3000.