Kacy & Clayton Team Up with Marlon Williams for New Album 'Plastic Bouquet'

Listen to lead single "I Wonder Why" now

BY Matt BobkinPublished Oct 20, 2020

Last fall, Saskatoon-based folk duo Kacy & Clayton told us that they were working on a collaboration with New Zealand roots troubadour Marlon Williams. Now, the trio have officially announced the record. Plastic Bouquet is due December 11 via New West Records.

"We wanted to see if we could meld hemispheres," said Williams in a press release. "I'm bringing this Pacific style of country music with the harmonies and choral elements. Kacy & Clayton have a super identifiable sound. They embody everything I love about North American folk. There's a rural weariness where they're telling tales that have been told a million times in their own way. I feel the strength in it."

You can hear the first example of their teamwork with "I Wonder Why," a brief and brisk folk tune with heartaching lyrics, twanging slide guitar and twanging harmonies.

Kacy & Clayton last released Carrying On last year. Williams' previous album, Make Way for Love, was named one of Exclaim!'s Top 10 Folk and Country Albums of 2018

Watch the new video for "I Wonder Why" below and keep scrolling for the tracklist.

Plastic Bouquet:

1. Isn't It
2. Plastic Bouquet
3. Light of Love
4. Your Mind's Walking Out
5. Arahura
6. I'm Unfamiliar
7. I Wonder Why
8. Old Fasioned Man
9. I'm Gonna Break It
10. Last Burning Ember
11. Devil's Daughter

Latest Coverage