Julie Doiron Gets Positive and Electric On New Album

Julie Doiron Gets Positive and Electric On New Album
Following some recent collaborative action with Phil Elverum and her old pals in Eric's Trip, Julie Doiron has announced she's getting back to her solo thing with a new full-length.

On March 10, the soft-voiced Canadian songstress will pair up with Endearing in Canada and Jagjaguwar in the U.S. to release I Can Wonder What You Did With Your Day, an album that promises to unveil some of the most upbeat and inspiring songs of Doiron's career, as well as some of her loudest. According to the press release, this follow-up to 2007's Polaris Prize-nominated Woke Myself Up finds the songwriter in full-on electric mode, showcasing thick distortion and melodic pop not heard since her early Eric's Trip days. And from hearing the album's fuzzed-out pop rocker "Consolation Prize" over at Jagjaguwar's website, the release is by no means messing around.

So why the sudden shift from heart-on-sleeve tearjerkers to happier musical fare? "I keep saying that it's a change in a positive direction," Doiron says in the release. "I've started to love life most of the time, and I'm happy, and I'm having a great time raising my kids."

In addition to Doiron simply being in a good mode these days, part of the reason the record came out the way it did likely has something to do with her old Eric's Trip band-mate Rick White recording I Can Wonder. White laid down the record at his isolated home studio just northwest of Toronto and also played bass and keyboards on the album, alongside frequent Doiron collaborator Fred Squire, who did all the drum bits and some lead guitar.

There's no word of any upcoming tour dates but here is the tracklisting:

1. "Lovers Of The World"
2. "Tailor"
3. "Heavy Snow"
4. "Nice To Come Home"
5. "Consolation Prize"
6. "Je Le Savais"
7. "When Brakes Get Wet"
8. "Borrowed Minivans"
9. "Blue"
10. "Glad To Be Alive"

Julie Doiron "Me and My Friend"