Joanna Newsom Unveils 'Divers' LP, Shares New Video

Joanna Newsom Unveils 'Divers' LP, Shares New Video
Whimsical harp-playing singer-songwriter Joanna Newsom hasn't released a record since 2010's Have One on Me, though she's been keeping busy with rare releases, singing the theme song for The Muppets, and trying her hand at film narration in Paul Thomas Anderson's Inherent Vice. Heck, she was even honoured with a tribute album featuring covers of her songs by the likes of Billy Bragg, M. Ward and Owen Pallett. But Newsom's studio album dry spell is about to end, as she's announced plans for her next LP.
Titled Divers, the record is slated to arrive on October 23 via Drag City. You can see the album art pictured above, while the full eleven-song tracklisting can be found below.
In addition to the album announcement, Newsom has shared a clip for the first single "Sapokanikan." It was directed by her Inherent Vice collaborator Anderson and features the songstress out and about in New York City. She skips and sways along to the quirky, piano-driven folk number in the streets, and you can scroll past the tracklisting to give it a watch.


1. Anecdotes
2. Sapokanikan
3. Leaving the City
4. Goose Eggs
5. Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
6. The Things I Say
7. Divers
8. Same Old Man
9. You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10. A Pin-Light Bent
11. Time, As a Symptom