​Jill Barber Announces 'Metaphora' LP, Shares "Girl's Gotta Do"

​Jill Barber Announces 'Metaphora' LP, Shares 'Girl's Gotta Do'
Jill Barber has revealed plans for her next studio album. Titled Metaphora, the record will arrive on June 22 via Outside Music.
It marks her solo follow-up to 2014's Fool's Gold, though she also released a joint record with her brother Matthew Barber in 2016, aptly titled The Family Album.
Metaphora hears the singer-songwriter embracing danceable contemporary pop sounds to address topics like "empowerment, sexual politics, the complications of love and depression."
Four of the nine new songs were co-written by Mother Mother frontman Ryan Guldemond, and the LP was produced by Gus Van Go.
"The sessions became part songwriting and part therapy because I was writing about things that felt pretty raw; politics, sexism, being a mother," Barber said in a statement. "I started to realize that this was going to be a very different kind of album for me. I had more that I needed to say and Ryan helped bring that out with his uncanny knack for melody and song structure."
The first preview of new music arrives with the Guldemond-assisted "Girl's Gotta Do." Scroll past the full Metaphora tracklisting to stream it below.
1. The Woman
2. Girl's Gotta Do
3. Hooked Your Heart
4. Bigger Than You
5. Mercy
6. Clumsy Heart
7. Cage Without A Key
8. Love Is
9. Hold On