Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor Preps Solo 'Piano' Album, Shares "I'm Ready"

Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor Preps Solo 'Piano' Album, Shares 'I'm Ready'
Hot Chip dropped their latest LP Why Make Sense? last year, then followed it up with a fresh take on a Bruce Springsteen classic for a follow-up EP titled Dancing in the Dark. Frontman Alexis Taylor isn't ready to take a break just yet, though, as he's now revealed plans for a new solo record.
Piano will arrive on June 10 through Moshi Moshi. As the album's name implies, the new material centres on Taylor's piano playing and vocals. In addition to original tracks, the set also features reinterpretations of his own past work and "a selection of favourites both well-known and unheard before by other artists."
"The idea with this record was to choose songs of my own and others' that were personal to me and to document live performances which were intimate and unadorned," Taylor explained in a statment.
Stripping songs down to their bare elements and focusing on capturing the beautiful sound of the instrument itself, Taylor veered away from using any over-the-top effects, showcasing a sound unlike what fans have heard before.
"The mood created on the record is pretty different from that on other records I have been involved with," he continued. "It feels like a special place to be able to go to."
Piano marks the solo follow-up to Taylor's 2014 LP Await Barbarians, and the one-man project has revealed a preview of the forthcoming record with lead single "I'm Ready." Scroll past the full Piano tracklisting to give it a whirl.
1. I'm Ready
2. So Much Further to Go
3. Crying in the Chapel
4. Without Your Name
5. In The Light of the Room
6. Lonely Vagabond
7. Repair Man
8. Don't Make My Brown Eyes Blue
9. I Never Lock That Door
10. Just For A Little While
11. Don't Worry