The Horrors' Tom Furse Curates Library Music Compilation

The Horrors' Tom Furse Curates Library Music Compilation
Though samplers and beatsmiths have dug deep and found gold in the archives of the Southern Library of Recorded Music, the UK company's catalogue of incidental music can be a bit a overwhelming to navigate for novice library music aficionados. The Horrors' keyboardist Tom Furse is going to make things a bit easier for you by issuing a compilation of choice cuts as the tellingly titled Tom Furse Digs.

The collection arrives August 7 via Lo Recordings as a 19-song set. A statement from Furse notes that his collection is full of "shining and unique oddities" from the Southern Library of Recorded Music. Further described as "the bastard sounds of pop fancy," the songs selected for the Furse-curated collection supposedly stray from the strains crate-diggers have focused on over the years.

"Instead of sample-friendly beats and mutated versions of chart hits, there is something here that's all together different," he said, further describing his picks as presenting "a world of exotica-tinged jazz beat, calling up images of sandy days and smoky nights in tropical climates."

Composers saluted on the set include Nino Nardini, Roger Roger, Johnny Hawksworth, Anthony Mawer and Harihar Rao. It's unclear how long it took for Furse to find his favourite songs in the library. He noted that there was "a lot of filtering on my part," but "no stone was left unturned to find the diamonds amongst the rough."

Tom Furse Digs:

1. Chris Gunning "Beachcomber "
2. Johnny Hawksworth "Several Shades Of Blue"
3. Johnny Scott "Bass Guitar Stroll"
4. Roger Roger "Poltergeist"
5. Nino Nardini "Soothsayer"
6. Barry Forgie "Everglades"
7. Johnny Scott "Great Organ Beat"
8. Harihar Rao "Temple Courtyard"
9. Eugene Cines "For Joan To Dance To"
10. Reinhard Egin and Mike Run "Riga Road"
11. Roger Roger "Long Hot Summer"
12. Johnny Scott "Tarzan Talk"
13. Anthony Mawer "Surf City"
14. Johnny Scott "Low Down Beat"
15. Roger Roger "Sad Swallow"
16. Johnny Scott "Marissa"
17. Johnny Hawksworth "Yesterday's Tears"
18. Reinhard Egin and Mike Run "Moonstone"
19. Larry Kraman "Homing In"