Gustaf Announce Debut Album 'Audio Drag for Ego Slobs'

Watch their new video for "Book"
Gustaf Announce Debut Album 'Audio Drag for Ego Slobs'
After signing with Toronto label Royal Mountain Records last year, Gustaf have officially announced plans for their debut album. The New York art punks will release Audio Drag for Ego Slobs through their new label home on October 1.

Today, they've shared the record's lead single "Book," which finds the band teaming up with directors Andrew and Matt Joffe for an accompanying music video. The two-minute clip shows the band on a kidnapping mission with their target (played by Gustaf's lead singer) escaping them at nearly every turn.

As for the tune itself, here's what the band had to say about "Book":

"Book" is a song about the fallacy and fight of getting ahead vs being a head. It is seeking validation in the wrong places and from the wrong people. The hook, "I got ahead, I got a head" is a fun little taunt that we find either being thrown in our face or coming out our mouth. Everyone gets their moment up on the pedestal and everyone gets their turn falling off of it. Whether it's up or down, "Book" is about accepting whatever level you're on.

The track marks the latest morsel of what's to come of Gustaf's 10-track debut. News of the release follows their debut single, "Mine," which arrived last October and will be included on the forthcoming record. 

Watch the video for "Book" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting. 

Audio Drag for Ego Slobs:

1. Mine
2. Book
3. Best Behavior
4. Dream
5. Liquid Frown
6. The Motions
7. Cruel
8. Dog
9. Package
10. Happy

Pre-order Audio Drag for Ego Slobs.