The Fresh & Onlys Announce 'House of Spirits' Album, Share New Song

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 5, 2014

When the Fresh & Onlys announced last autumn's Soothsayer EP, we described the San Francisco psych outfit as "a band who refuse to slow down." Proving our point, the Tim Cohen-led group have now unveiled another new album. House of Spirits is due out on June 10 through Mexican Summer.

A press release notes that the album was written partly during Cohen's stay at a horse ranch in Arizona, where he was armed with a guitar, keyboard and drum machine. This resulted in a collection that "possesses the impeccable pop faculties displayed on the band's last two albums while also presenting experimental atmospherics and drum machine-anchored ballads never heard from the group before."

The album's A-side explores absurd and unreliable dreams, which the B-side is said to be more lucid. Cohen sad that the album addresses the "idea that home is where your feet are."

Recording took place in analogue at San Francisco's Lucky Cat Studios with Trans Am's Phil Manley (Moon Duo, Wooden Shjips). To get a taste of the results, scroll past the tracklist below to hear the dreamily fuzzed-out "Bells of Paonia."

House of Spirits:

1. Home is Where?
2. Who Let the Devil
3. Bells of Paonia
4. Animal of One
5. I'm Awake
6. Hummingbird
7. April Fools
8. Ballerina
9. Candy
10. Madness

Latest Coverage