​Fred Penner Gets Ron Sexsmith, Basia Bulat, Bahamas for New Album

​Fred Penner Gets Ron Sexsmith, Basia Bulat, Bahamas for New Album
Kid-friendly favourite Fred Penner has roped in a bunch of famous friends for a brand new album. The record is titled Hear the Music, and it's set to arrive on April 21 via Linus Entertainment.

The latest musical offering from the beloved children's entertainer features guest appearances from a number of prominent Canadian musicians, whose childhood's were likely soundtracked by Penner himself. Ron Sexsmith, Alex Cuba, Basia Bulat, the Good Lovelies, Terra Lightfoot and Bahamas (a.k.a. Afie Jurvanen) all contributed to the record, while Penner's own family provides backing vocals on many of the songs.

You can see the full tracklisting and list of credits below.

Lightfoot called her new collaborator a "wonderful human," while the Good Lovelies echoed that sentiment by calling Penner a "great friend and fabulous musician." Sexsmith took it one step further, praising the guy for his "calming almost shaman-like vibe" and "good sense of humour."

The record marks Penner's 13th studio album, and it was produced by his longtime collaborator Ken Whiteley.

"This album is dedicated to all you Fred Heads, young and old who have travelled with me on this musical journey," Penner said in a statement. "Considering I've been on the road for 45 years, there are now three generations of families who continue to inspire me to make music."

To mark the arrival of Hear the Music, you'll be able to do exactly what the title suggests at the CD release party on April 23 at Lula Lounge in Toronto. Penner also has a handful of other upcoming tour dates, which you can see below.

That's also where you'll find the album's first sonic sampling in the form of the Spanish-speaking "La Vida," which features Cuba and Bulat.

Hear the Music:

1. I Hear The Music (ft. Terra Lightfoot)
2. Bienvenue (ft. Rosalyn Denett, Damien Penner, Hayley Gene Penner, Danica Penner, Kendra Penner)
3. This Is My World (ft. Ron Sexsmith)
4. Working Together (ft. Afie Jurvanen aka Bahamas)
5. Humility (ft. Terra Lightfoot and The Good Lovelies)
6. La Vida (ft. Alex Cuba and Basia Bulat)
7. Hold Your Head Up (ft. Jaron Freeman-Fox)
8. Children's Garden (ft. Rosalyn Dennett)
9. Angels In The Snow (ft. Damien Penner, Hayley Gene Penner, Danica Penner, Kendra Penner, Dan Wiebe)
10. Courage (ft. Jackie Richardson)
11. Celebrate Being
12. Catcher Of The Dreams (ft. Basia Bulat)
13. Stumble (ft. Damien Penner)
14. The River Will Bend (ft. Ron Sexsmith and Afie Jurvanen)

Tour dates:

03/28 Churchill, MB - Aurora Winterfest
04/19 Brampton, ON - Rose Theatre
04/22 Ottawa, ON - Shenkman Arts Center
04/23 Toronto, ON - Lula Lounge