Fear Factory Reform With Cazares

Fear Factory Reform With Cazares
"I wouldn't say this is a reunion or a reformation. It's more of a reorganization," says Fear Factory vocalist Burton C. Bell. "Fear Factory have been rolling around even though we haven't been chugging out records. The last one was four years ago but it's just in a state of reorganization now."

A relatively large shock to the system, Bell has announced that Fear Factory are officially together again and working on new material to follow-up 2005's Transgression. While that in and of itself is surprising, what makes the situation even more unusual is that the band are currently comprised of Bell, bassist Byron Stroud, drummer Gene Hoglan (Death, Dethklok, Strapping Young Lad) and former Fear Factory guitarist Dino Cazares.

Taking a stroll down memory lane, a few years ago Bell and Cazares wouldn't be caught dead together in the same room. Cazares left the band in 2002 after some allegedly choice words by Bell, causing a whirlwind of bad blood and muck-raking. Growing up - or realizing that the Fear Factory name puts more butts into concert seats than Cazares' Divine Heresy or Bell's Ascension Of The Watchers combined - the two have smoothed over their differences and the band will record/tour in the coming year.

"Well, you know, we were friends before we were in a band together and after a while we forgot what it was all about," Bell stated to Metal Hammer. "The first time we saw each other in a long time was at the Ministry show in L.A., and we just started talking again. It was like, 'I don't really remember what it was all about!' It's like, good friendships will always return, basically."

Divine Heresy will continue to release their sophomore effort Bringer Of Plagues on July 28 via Century Media. Former Fear Factory members Christian Olde Wolbers (guitar) and Raymond Herrera (drums) have teamed up with Threat Signal members Jon Howard (vocals) and Pat Kavanaugh (bass) in Arkaea. Their debut, Years Of Darkness, hits shelves July 13 through E1 Music.