Explosions in the Sky Detail First New Album in Seven Years 'End'

Hear the lead single "Ten Billion People"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jul 17, 2023

Texas post-rock quartet Explosions in the Sky are back with their seventh — but don't fret, not final — studio album, led by resplendent new single "Ten Billion People."

End arrives September 15 via Temporary Residence. It follows the band's 2016 LP, The Wilderness, as well as their work on the 2021 Big Bend soundtrack.

"Our starting point was the concept of an ending — death, or the end of a friendship or relationship," the band explained in a statement. "Every song comes from a story, or an idea one of us has had that we've all expanded on and made its own world. Maybe it's our nature, but we kept feeling that the album title was ultimately open to a lot more interpretation — the end of a thing or a time can mean a stop, but it can also mean a beginning, and what happens after one thing ends might pale in comparison to what it becomes next."

According to press notes, End is "perhaps the grandest Explosions in the Sky album to date," melding the restraint of their earlier catalogue and the baroque experimentation that has marked their most recent work, including the bevy of film scores they have contributed to.

Watch the "Ten Billion People" video below.


1. Ten Billion People
2. Moving On
3. Loved Ones
4. Peace or Quiet
5. All Mountains
6. The Fight
7. It's Never Going to Stop

Pre-order End.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage